South Australian Sport Hall of Fame

Induction into the South Australian Sport Hall of Fame represents the highest level of recognition and is there to promote the outstanding achievements of this State's greatest athletes and general members. Nominations can be for athletes, teams and general members who each identify as a South Australian. Athletes and teams must have competed at the top level of their sport and general members will be selected for excellence and outstanding achievements in roles supporting athletes' participation. Nominations are submitted annually and any that are not selected in any given year will be reconsidered by the Selection Committee annually.
Selection criteria
Athlete nomination form
General member nomination form
Team nomination form

Nominations open: Now
Nominations closed: Friday July 13th 2018

The South Australian Sport Awards

Judged and Awarded by The Advertiser and Channel 7

Sports Star of the Year
Awarded to the premier South Australian athlete based on his or her performance throughout the year nationally and internationally.
Sponsored by: Sports Centre

Peoples Choice Sports Star of the Year Award
The most popular South Australian sportsperson from the Sports Star finalists chosen by the people of SA.

Team of the Year
Recognising the state's best performed team both nationally and internationally.

Junior Sports Star of the Year Award
Recognising the state's best performed junior athlete.

Elite Athlete with a Disability
Recognising the best performing athlete with a disability.
Sponsored by: West Beach Community Branch, Bendigo Bank

Tanya Denver Award for Endeavour and Sportsmanship
Recognising an inspirational athlete based on the courage and performance shown to reach the elite level.
Sponsored by: The Advertiser


Nominated by Sporting Organisations/Clubs and Judged by Sport SA

Nomination Criteria



Country Athlete of the Year
Must be a resident in regional South Australia who has achieved outstanding sporting success in country competition.
Sponsored by: Statewide Super

Click for nomination form

Event of the Year
Awarded to a state sporting event largely organised by a state sporting body that has achieved a high standard of excellence. The Event of the Year Award is split into 2 sub-categories:
Major event - conducted by professional management staff and Community event.These sub-categories will be determined based on the resources and work force used to deliver each event. 
Sponsored by: Terry Howe Printing

Click for nomination form


Coach of the Year
Awarded to an individual who has either made a significant contribution to the success of a person /team or has shown excellence in coaching practices.

Click for nomination form


Official of the Year
Awarded to an individual who has demonstrated dedication, skill, knowledge and expertise in officiating at the highest possible level.
Sponsored by: Club One

Click for nomination form


Administrator of the Year
Awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to their chosen sport or the sports industry as a whole.
Sponsored by: Gallagher Insurance Brokers

Click for nomination form


Volunteer of the Year
Awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the sports industry in a voluntary capacity.
Sponsored by: Sunday Mail City - Bay Fun Run

Click for nomination form

Nominations open: NOW!
Nominations closed:  4th September 2018

School Sports Award (Primary and Secondary)
Awarded to a Primary and Secondary School student aimed at recognising and rewarding outstanding sporting achievements of young people within our community.
Sponsored by: The Messenger Community News and the Department for Education and Child Development.

Please visit the SSSSA website for the nomination form and further details.

All winners are announced at the South Australian Sport Awards at Adelaide Oval, all finalists are invited to attend at no cost.